Climate Change Coordinating Committee

Historical Development

The Ministry of Environment, Urbanization and Climate Change, which is the National Focal Point on Climate Change, carries out the task of national coordination on issues related to climate change. In this context, before 2004, when Türkiye became a party to the United Nations Framework Convention on Climate Change (UNFCCC), institutional structuring was carried out and the Climate Change Coordination Board (IDKK) was established with the Prime Ministry Circular No. 2001/2. The restructuring was deemed appropriate and it continued its activities under the name of the Climate Change and Air Management Coordination Board (IDHYKK). It is stated in the circular that the board will convene at least once a year, the working procedures and principles will be determined by the board, and the decisions taken will be implemented by the relevant institutions/organizations. In addition, it was stated that the secretariat services and coordination works of the board would be carried out by the Ministry of Environment and Urbanization. Again, in the circular, if required by the board; sub-committees, committees, advisory groups, temporary and permanent working groups can be formed and representatives of universities, non-governmental organizations, professional associations, and private sector as well as relevant public institutions and organizations can be invited to board meetings. It has been announced that they can take part in sub-committees, committees, and working groups. The Board consisted of fourteen members and these members consisted of various ministries, public institutions, and some non-governmental organizations.

In summary, the Climate Change and Weather Management Coordination Board (IDHYKK) constituted the national decision-making mechanism at the political level by gathering the relevant institutions and organizations.


The Current Situation


The name of the Ministry of Environment and Urbanization was changed to the Ministry of Environment, Urbanization and Climate Change with Presidential Decree No. 85 on Amending Certain Presidential Decrees. In addition, with the same decree, IDHYKK was replaced by the Climate Change and Adaptation Coordination Board (IDUKK), and it was stated that climate change negotiations would be conducted by a Chief Negotiator (Relevant Deputy Minister). In addition, it was stated that the Secretariat services of the Coordination Board would be carried out by the Climate Change Presidency, which was established with the aforementioned Decree.

In the decree, the following statements are included:

  1. The Coordination Board is responsible for determining, monitoring, and evaluating plans, policies, strategies, and actions related to climate change.
  2. Coordination Board, under the chairmanship of the Minister, Chief Climate Change Negotiator, Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Ministry of Energy and Natural Resources, Ministry of Treasury and Finance, Ministry of Interior, Ministry of National Education, Ministry of Health, Ministry of Industry and Technology, Ministry of Agriculture and Forestry, Ministry of Trade, Deputy Ministers of Ministry of Transport and Infrastructure, Head of Strategy and Budget, Head of Higher Education Council, Head of Climate Change, President of Scientific and Technological Research Council of Türkiye, President of Turkish Environment Agency, President of Turkish Statistical Institute, President of Union of Chambers and Commodity Exchanges of Türkiye, Turkish Industrialists and Businessmen's Association The Independent Industrialists' and Businessmen's Association consists of twenty-two members, including the President of the Union of Municipalities of Türkiye. In cases where the Minister is unable to attend, the Coordination Board is chaired by the Chief Climate Change Negotiator.
  3. Secretariat services of the Coordination Board are carried out by the Presidency.
  4. The President of the Coordination Board may invite the representatives of other institutions to a meeting regarding the issues to be discussed on the agenda of the Coordination Board.
  5. The Coordination Board convenes at least twice a year upon the call of the Minister.